- Oaister
A huge database of resources from conference papers to theses.
- Online Archive of California
historical collections of texts, letters, oral history transcripts, etc.
- ibilio
"a conservancy of freely available information, including software, music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies".
- USA.gov - Government publications
The Occupational Outlook Handbook, are just a few of the many government documents available online. Other agencies have collections of historical material, such as the National Parks Service Parks History site. USA.gov will search the whole federal government.
- DocuTicker
covers recently released reports from government agencies, NGO's, think tanks and other similar groups. A search box is located in the right column, after the date listings.
- Creative Commons
Less of a collection and more of a paradigm, CC licenses are more flexible than standard copyright and publishing licenses, many allowing free use without consigning the work to the public domain. Various searches are available through this site. Be sure to consult the exact text of the license before use.
- Eserver
a collection of (mostly) independently published works from Iowa State University in the humanities and social sciences.
- Harvard's Open Collection Project
The collections consist of digitized images of books, serials, pamphlets, photographs, diaries (images of pages, not transcripts!), manuscripts, and catalogs. Keyword searching is available, and browsing by collection, material, and theme/subject.
- IMLS Digital Collections Registry
Over 130 digital collections funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services National Leadership Grant Program. Includes Connecticut History Online and the recently released New York Public Library Picture Gallery. Browse by Subject, Object (type of resource), Place, and Title, or search by keyword (very general topics work best).
- CalTech Collection of Open Digital Archives (CalTech CODA)
articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, theses, and dissertations from CalTech's faculty and students. There are over a dozen collections and more coming. CODA is particularly strong in engineering, but covers all subjects.
- Internet Archive
Text, audio, video, images, websites, etc., etc., etc.
- Open Folklore
A developing open access project in folklore studies. The project itself is still in development, but there are links to the existing online collections in each category.
- ebrary Open Access Collections
Government documents, reports, books, and other resources on library science/knowledge management, H1N1, natural disasters, and cyberbulling. New collections added occassionally.
- Full Text Reports…
Reports from government agencies, think tanks, universities, societies, institutes, etc.
- OpenDOAR - Search Contents of Open Access Repositories
An experimental search across all the Open DOAR repositories, which contain articles, presentations, dissertations and theses, and other institutional documents and collections. On the same site, you can also search for repositories, and get a lot of information about institutional repositories.
- This Day In History
Resources from PBS, Archives.org, and other archival sites.
