- Bartleby Bookstore
- Civitas
Civitas is an independent think tank that seeks to deepen public understanding of the legal, institutional and moral framework that makes possible a free...
- DOAB(Directory of Open Access Books)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory will be open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
- Intech
Established in 2004 by two Robotics researchers frustrated with the lack of freely available academic resources on the internet, InTech was one of the earliest pioneers of open access in the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. Since then InTech collaborated with more than 60 000 authors providing FREE access to 13 journals and 1700 books.
- Library4Science
Library4Science has been established to bring technical reference and educational resources for the sciences to the internet. We hope to provide a comprehensive set of books for the sciences that can be read in whole for free on the internet.
- OAPEN((Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library aims to improve the visibility and usability of high quality academic research by aggregating peer reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe.
- Open Access Books
While many of the open access texts available on the Internet are also public domain, many authors and publishers have released full or partial versions of current works. For some this is an advertising scheme to create demand for print versions, while others are more interested in presenting their content to the widest possible audience.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 30,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader or other portable device.
- The Online Books Page
Listing over 35,000 free books on the Web
- Free e-books
Many books in the public domain may be freely accessed here, as well as some other books under specified conditions.
- Scholarly Monograph Series
The SPO Scholarly Monograph Series is an interdisciplinary collection of original, open-access scholarly monographs and essays published by the Scholarly Publishing Office of the University of Michigan Library. Since 2001, members of the University of Michigan faculty and the Library have been working together to explore new models and methods for publication. These electronic books are some of the achievements of that collaboration.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected
