LibGuides: Conservation and Restoration Cultural Heritage: Books

Ephesus Celsus Library, Türkiye

The Library of Celsus takes its name from Julius Celsus Polemaenus. He was the Roman governor of Asia Minor in the 2nd century AD. He was buried in a sarcophagus under the library. The construction of the building began in 110 AD. The library is a kind of mausoleum donated by his son - Julius Aquila Polemaeanus, who spent 25 000 denars for this purpose. The construction was finished by his descendants in 135 AD.

The interior of the library was destroyed by fire, which left the façade undamaged. It is not known what exactly had happened, but about 400 AD the library no longer functioned. The area in front of it was turned into a pool, which reflected the beautiful façade, and the whole structure had a purely decorative function. At the site of the pool, archeologists have found huge reliefs depicting the victory of Marcus Aurelius over the Parthians. Most of them are now exhibited in Vienna, but several original fragments and replicas of so-called Parthian Monument can also be seen in the Ephesus Museum in Selçuk.

Source: Turkish Archaeological News

Google Books

Search Printed and E-Books

You can search all printed and e-books from our catalog.

Location of Books in the Library

Conservation and Restoration Cultural Heritage books can be found in the Nilgül Uysal Study Hall (formerly 'Electronic Library'). For open-shelf collection, after having the call number of a book from the catalog search, you can seek it throughout the shelves classified using the Library of Congress Classification Scheme as follows;

NA1-9428	Architecture
NA1-60	General
NA100-130	Architecture and the state
NA190-1555.5	History
NA1995	Architecture as a profession
NA2000-2320	Study and teaching. Research
NA2335-2360	Competitions
NA2400-2460	Museums. Exhibitions
NA2500-2599	General works
NA 2599.5-2599.9	Architectural criticism
NA2695-2793	Architectural drawing and design
NA2835-4050	Details and decoration
NA4100-8480	Special classes of buildings
NA4100-4145	Classed by material
NA4150-4160	Classed by form
NA4170-8480	Classed by use
NA4170-(7020)	Public buildings
NA4590-5621	Religious architecture
NA7100-7884	Domestic architecture. Houses. Dwellings
NA7910-8125	Clubhouses, guild houses, etc.
NA8200-8260	Farm architecture
NA 8300-8480	Outbuildings, gates, fences, etc.
NA9000-9428	Aesthetics of cities. City planning and beautifying

The IZTECH Library Catalog can search all books (printed and electronic) by author, title, subject, keyword, etc.

IZTECH Library has many reliable databases that IZTECH Members can access on or off-campus. E-resources (books, journals, etc.) can be found by searching All Resources by author title, subject, or keyword.

If you access the databases from off-campus, please read the information about accessing them off-campus.

Getting a Book from Other Libraries

If there is a book you need but it's not available online or in our catalog, search and request it through Interlibrary loan.

You can search TO-KAT National Union Catalog to find out which libraries have the book.

Getting information about Interlibrary Loan click here.

E-Books

If you access the databases from off-campus, please read the information about accessing them off-campus.

Bookboon.com This link opens in a new window Bookboon.com was established in Denmark in 1988, under the name Ventus, and has always focused on publishing educational material for students and business professionals. The company continuously aims to set new standards in the world of modern publishing based on its readers’ needs. In 2005, the company made a strategic leap and became the world’s first online book publisher to provide free textbooks for students.
DOAB Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window 3201 Academic peer-reviewed books from 107 publishers.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window Search and view the full text of over 4300 eBooks.
Ebook Central (e-books) This link opens in a new window Use Ebook Central to quickly and easily find relevant ebooks and chapters; read online; search within the ebook; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download ebooks and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more.
HighWire (OA) This link opens in a new window Many publishers who work with HighWire allow access to their content without a subscription.
InTech (Open) This link opens in a new window InTech is the publisher of one of the largest multidisciplinary open access collection of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. Since 2004, InTech has collaborated with 88012 authors and published 2468 books and 6 journals with the aim of providing free online access to research.
Knovel This link opens in a new window Knovel is an online technical reference collection used by applied scientists and practicing engineers around the world to quickly locate relevant and reliable technical information. Knovel helps engineers innovate and solve complex problems faster by providing instant access to trusted technical information.
MasterFILE Complete Reference eBook Subscription This link opens in a new window This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
McGraw Hill Access Engineering This link opens in a new window AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. AccessEngineering prepares students to solve real-world problems, makes curriculum planning and delivery easy for faculty, and helps professionals find relevant information faster, driving increased ROI.
National Academies Press (OA) This link opens in a new window The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. Read and download 5,616 books for FREE!
You should register to download books.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window O'Reilly for Higher Education provides access to a rich ecosystem of online learning experiences in business and technology.
Royal Society of Chemistry eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window The RSC eBook Collection is a definitive point of reference for anyone working in the chemical sciences. We have access to the books until the year 2009.
ScienceDirect E-Books This link opens in a new window We have access to nearly 4.000 Scientific and technical books from the year 1995 to 2007 and 28 Books and Handbook Series.
Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window We have access to 14.533 e-books published by Springer from the year 2005 to 2008.
Taylor & Francis E-Books This link opens in a new window It is accessible 207 Taylor & Francis E-books published in the following subject fields: Engineering and Technology, Built Environment, Environment and Agriculture, Bioscience, and Computer Science.
TURCADEMY Türkiye Akademik Yayınlar Platformu This link opens in a new window We have subscribed to Engineering, Natural Science, Cultural Publications, and Fine Arts packages.