Artificial Intelligence (AI) Tools: AI in Academic Research

Semantic Scholar is a search engine that uses AI to index and organize scientific literature. Semantic Scholar can help you to find sources, identify relevant citations, and track your research.

Connected Papers is a visual tool to help researchers and applied scientists find academic papers relevant to their field of work.

Consensus is an AI search engine that helps researchers to find relevant research papers. It uses machine learning to identify papers that are likely to be relevant to a given research question, even if they do not use the same keywords. Consensus also provides summaries of each paper, making it easy to assess their relevance.

Perplexity is a powerful research tool that can answer your specific questions accurately. It helps you find information from many sources and refine your search. It can also be used with other research tools to improve and complete your research.

Scholar Ai - The ScholarAI GPT and the ScholarAI ChatGPT Plugin connects users to peer-reviewed research articles.

Litmaps creates interactive literature maps: collections of articles that make up your different research topics.

Turnitin AI Writing Detection Tool helps instructors identify when AI writing tools such as ChatGPT may have been used to write any part of the content submitted in a student’s assignment.

Copyleaks is a software program that helps instructors detect plagiarism by comparing text from student assignments to a database of outside sources. 

Grammarly Another valuable feature of Grammarly is its plagiarism checker. Thanks to this feature, you can ensure that your essays are plagiarism-free. Original content is critical in academic writing; mostly, no more than 20% of text coincidence can be tolerated, while anything more means the text is not original.

Tableau is a powerful tool that helps users to analyze data. With its drag-and-drop interface, Tableau helps users easily explore, understand, and identify data, trends, patterns, and outliers. It supports everything from basic charts and graphs to advanced maps, treemaps, and heat maps. 

It is a popular choice for data analysts, businesses, and researchers across industries for its user-friendly interface and robust data visualization capabilities.

ATLAS.ti is a qualitative research tool that can be used for coding and analyzing transcripts & field notes, building literature reviews, creating network diagrams, and data visualization.

Datawrapper lets you show your data as beautiful charts, maps, or tables with a few clicks.

Scite AI helps researchers better discover and understand research articles through Smart Citations. Smart Citations allow users to see how a publication has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence for the cited claim.

Zotero is an AI-powered management tool and your personal research assistant. It is specially designed to help researchers and scholars collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research documents. This tool can help you customize all your collections and automatically extract metadata from sources. 

Zotero has 10,000 citation styles for you to format your work and match your style to a publication. Moreover, it takes help from references and bibliographies to edit text and give you genuine information in your Google Doc or Word document. 

Mendeley is a user-friendly AI tool to organize, share, and cite your research papers properly in one place. It helps you organize your PDFs, create better bibliographies, and annotate documents easily. 

Moreover, this tool enables researchers to collaborate on projects and discover relevant articles based on their interests. Mendeley’s powerful features and integration into academic workflows make it a practical tool. It helps you to streamline your management and enhance collaboration within the scholarly community.

JabRef is an advanced reference manager that facilitates grouping of entries based on both keywords and general search terms. It includes a cite-as-you-write function and can manage extensive reference and correspondence files quickly. 

Trinka AI is a complete writing assistant that includes a citation generator. Trinka can help you to find sources, format citations, and write your paper in a clear and concise style.

Research Rabbit  is a free online “citation-based literature mapping tool." It helps researchers to manage their research. It can track citations, create bibliographies, and generate summaries of papers. Research Rabbit can help researchers to stay organized and make better use of their time.

ClickUp is an all-in-one productivity platform that works as an ideal place for teams to come together, brainstorm, plan, and collaborate on everything from process docs to product designs. 

Trello is a project management tool that helps you organize and keep track of your work. You can create boards to track specific projects. It brings all your tasks, teammates, and tools together.

Notion is a freemium productivity and note-taking web application developed by Notion Labs Inc. It offers organizational tools including task management, project tracking, to-do lists, and bookmarking.

Pomofocus is a customizable pomodoro timer that works on desktop & mobile browser. The aim of this app is to help you focus on any task you are working on, such as study, writing, or coding. 

Labset is the R&D cloud platform built to accelerate science. It is a flexible research environment that connects your notebook, inventory, applications, and data in one collaborative workspace.

Benchling is a cloud-based software platform for biology researchers and research and development organizations, offering digital tools for streamlining lab work. The platform serves researchers ranging from academics to enterprise R&D labs.