Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Choosing Right Journals: Journal Finding Tools

Choosing Right Journals

You have finished writing your research manuscript and must choose a suitable target journal to submit your paper. But you are unsure which journal would be the best fit for your research work. Given the enormous number of scholarly journals, it is hard to shortlist possible reputed journals for your research paper.

There are many academic research tools to help you select the best-suited journal. Here are valuable tools that provide suggestions or recommendations for choosing the right journals.

Elsevier Journal Finder
Elsevier® JournalFinder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. Simply insert your title and abstract and select the appropriate field of research for the best results.

Springer Journal Suggester

Springer's journal matching technology finds relevant journals based on your manuscript details. You can search over 2.500 journals (all Springer and BMC journals) to find the most suitable journal for your manuscripts.

Wiley Journal Finder Beta 

Journal Finder Beta can suggest Wiley journals that may be relevant for your research. You can simply enter your title and abstract to see a list of potential journals.

IEEE Publication Recommender

Find the best match for your scholarly article

  • Search 190+ periodicals and 1800+ conferences
  • Compare critical points such as Impact Factor and Submission-To-Publication Time

The SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) indicator is a measure of the scientific influence of scholarly journals that accounts for both the number of citations received by a journal and the importance or prestige of the journals where the citations come from. 

Charlesworth Author Services Journal Finder

Journal Finder selects the most suitable journals for your academic article in 3 easy steps:

Step 1: Enter your article details into the search box using your abstract for the most accurate results. 

Step 2: Journal Finder searches across 20,000 pre-vetted journals containing 6.68 million papers indexed by the Researcher, including journals from the major STM Publishers and the majority of SCI ranked titles.  

Step 3: The Journal Finder uses a similarity scoring model to identify journals where papers with a similar scope to yours have been published in the last three years. The top 10 results are given based on your abstract, with the most suitable match listed first.

Open Journal Matcher 

This tool compares the similarity of user-submitted abstracts with abstracts from the Directory of Open Access Journals and provides a list of the 5 top matching journals. It is not meant to be forensic (it won’t tell you what journal an abstract came from), but rather it is meant to be serendipitous (maybe you’ll discover a new journal that you like!).
 

JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)

Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors', or 'Find Articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors, or articles.

Think.Check.Submit 

Think.Check.Submit helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. 

Journal Guide 

JournalGuide is a free tool that helps researchers to evaluate scholarly journals. In addition to searching by journal name, category, or publisher, authors can use the title and abstract of a paper to discover journals that have already published articles on similar topics. By matching journals to a paper’s content, researchers can see which journals would be most likely to have an interest in their story.

Journal Suggester Beta

Helping you find the best home for your research article.

                                                                                                           

Edanz Journal Selector

Search over 28,654 journals and 12,010,643 abstracts to find the journal that's right for you.

Scientific Journal Selector (Letpub)

Journal Selector is a free handy tool for authors to identify journals for publication.

Web of Science Master List

The Master Journal List is an invaluable tool to help you to find the right journal for your needs across multiple indices hosted on the Web of Science platform. 

Publish and Flourish Open Access

Flourish OA is a data-driven web app and API enabling users to discover relevant and reputable Open Access (OA) publications in order to maximize publishing impact. Their goal is to provide the OA community with the tools they need to separate legitimate OA publications from unethical and potentially predatory publishers.

DOAJ

DOAJ contains almost 17.500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. If you are looking only for open access journals, there are also ways of searching for these by filtering your search results through journal comparison tools.

Checking Open Access Policies of Publisher and Journal

Sherpa Romeo gives a summary of publishers' open access archiving conditions for individual journals.

Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.

https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/romeo/

 

Checking Funders’ Conditions for Open Access Publication

Sherpa Juliet enables researchers and librarians to see funders’ conditions for open access publication.

SHERPA Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders’ policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving.

https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/juliet/

Checking a Journal Complies with a Funder's Open Access Policies

Sherpa Fact checks if compliance with funder open access policies can be achieved with a particular journal. 

Sherpa Fact is an online resource that combines and interprets data from Sherpa Romeo, Sherpa Juliet and other sources to provide clear guidance to researchers on whether a journal they wish to publish in complies with UKRI Research CouncilsWellcome Trust and Charity Open Access Fund (COAF) open-access policies, and offers advice on available options.

https://v2.sherpa.ac.uk/fact/