The Harvard referencing style is a popular style using the author-date system for in-text citations.
In-text citation: It consists mainly of the authors' last name and the year of publication (and page numbers if it is directly quoted) in round brackets placed within the text. If there is no discernable author, the title and date are used.
Reference list: The reference list should be ordered alphabetically by the last name of the first author of each work. References with no author are ordered alphabetically by the first significant word of the title.
Use only the initials of the authors' given names. No full stop and space between the initials. The last name comes first.
The APA style was developed by the American Psychological Association. APA Style is used by writers in many disciplines around the world for concise, powerful, and persuasive scholarly communication.
The MLA style was developed by the Modern Language Association. It is most widely used for research papers in the humanities.
In-text citation:
Consists mainly of the authors' last name and the page reference in round brackets and placed within the text. If there is no discernable author, the title and the page references are used.
Reference list:
The reference list should be ordered alphabetically by the last name of the first author of each work. References with no author are ordered alphabetically by the first significant word of the title.
The IEEE style was developed by the IEEE Standards Association. It provides instructions for authors for each type of publication such as journals, magazines, newsletters, and standards. It is widely used in electrical, electronic, and computing publications.
The IEEE referencing style uses a numbered system.
All in-text citations receive a number, starting from [1]. When repeating a citation, use the original citation number allocated to that reference.
Referencing an idea
Whilst implementation of NAT on a network provides security from hack attacks or snooping, it makes protection of the datagram via IPSEC difficult [1]. Several methods for allowing IPSEC thorugh a NAT have been implemented [2-5].
Slower speeds where noticed when packet switching was performed by software, rather than hardware, configurations [4,9-10].
When talking about an author or study, subtitute their details with the bracketed citation e.g.;
According to [4], IPv6 provides some benefits for the security-minded network administrator.
Referencing a quotation
"Who the hell knew how much address space we needed [12]?"
The references in your reference list should be arranged in the order they appeared in your assignment.
Book
[1] W.K. Chen. Linear Networks and Systems. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, 1993, pp. 123-35.
Book Chapter
[2] J.E. Bourne. “Synthetic structure of industrial plastics,” in Plastics, 2nd ed., vol. 3. J. Peters, Ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1964, pp.15-67.
Conference proceedings
[3] D.B. Payne and H.G. Gunhold. “Digital sundials and broadband technology,” in Proc. IOOC-ECOC, 1986, pp. 557-998.
Journal article
[4] D. Kornack and P. Rakic, “Cell Proliferation without Neurogenesis in Adult Primate Neocortex,” Science, vol. 294, Dec. 2001, pp. 2127-2130, doi:10.1126/science.1065467.
Patent
[5] J. P. Wilkinson, “Nonlinear resonant circuit devices,” U.S. Patent 3 624 125, July 16, 1990.
Standards
[6] IEEE Criteria for Class IE Electric Systems, IEEE Standard 308, 1969.
Web Page or Web Document
[7] European Telecommunications Standards Institute, “Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB): Implementation guidelines for DVB terrestrial services; transmission aspects,” European Telecommunications Standards Institute, ETSI TR-101-190, 1997. [Online]. Available: http://www.etsi.org. [Accessed: Aug. 17, 1998].
The JAMA (or AMA) citation style is used by the Department of Health Professions (Physiotherapy). JAMA uses a numbered system of referencing.
In-text citation:
References are indicated by the use of a number in the order of appearance in the article. Superscripted Arabic numbers are used for in-text citations.
Reference list:
Displayed at the end of the article, providing full details of all references cited in the text. References are listed in numerical order, and in the same order in which they are cited in the text (not in alphabetical order).
The JAMA style requires:
The Vancouver citation style is commonly used in medicine and science. Vancouver uses a numbered system.
In-text citation:
References are indicated by the use of a number in the order of appearance in the article. Either Arabic numbers in curved brackets () or in superscript can be used as long as it is consistent.
Direct citations: If the author’s name forms a natural part of your sentence, then the surname should be followed by the number indicating the order that it appears in the document.
Indirect Citations: If you do not mention the author’s name within your text, you should place the number outside of the sentence, after the full stop.
Reference list:
Displayed at the end of the article, providing full details of all references cited in the text. References are listed in numerical order, and in the same order in which they are cited in the text (not in alphabetical order).
Use only the initials of the authors' given names. No full stop and space between the initials. The last name comes first.
The ACS style was developed by the American Chemical Society and is used for academic writing in chemistry.
ACS uses both numbered and author-date systems:
In-text citation:
References in the text should be cited in one of the two ways:
By number: either italic numbers in brackets or superscript numbers numbered sequentially
If a reference is cited more than once, it does not receive a new number.
When citing more than one reference at a time, include reference numbers in increasing order separated by commas.
By author-date: surname and year of publication in brackets.
Reference list:
The list of references appears at the end of the paper in numerical order if cited by number or in alphabetical order if cited by author-date.
Use only the initials of the authors' given names. Use full stops and spaces between the initials. The last name comes first.
The Chicago Style was developed by the University of Chicago. It presents two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography and author-date. The notes-bibliography system is used mainly by humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. The author-date system is preferred by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences.
In-text citation:
Notes-bibliography consists of two parts: a number in the text and a note either at the bottom of the page (footnote) or at the end of the paper (endnote). Notes are numbered sequentially beginning with 1., throughout each article, chapter, or paper. The numbers in the text must be in superscript and should follow the punctuation. The note should have a normal, full-sized number.
Author-date consists of the author's last name and the year of publication of the work cited. No punctuation is used between the name and the date.
Reference list:
The reference list should be ordered alphabetically by the last name of the first author of each work. References with no author are ordered in the reference list alphabetically by the first significant word of the title.
The AGLC style was developed from a collaboration between the Melbourne University Law Review and the Melbourne Journal of International Law. The AGLC provides Australia with a uniform system of legal citation. It is designed for academics, legal practitioners, law students, and the judiciary for legal writing and research.
AGLC uses the footnoting system.
In-text citation:
It consists of two parts: a number in the text and a note at the bottom of the page (footnote). Notes are numbered sequentially, beginning with 1., throughout each article, chapter, or paper. The numbers in the text must be in superscript and should follow the punctuation.
Ibid. is used to indicate that the previous reference has been used again.
Reference list:
The list of references appears at the end of the paper.
AGLC recommends dividing your bibliography into the following sections:
A. Articles/Books/Reports
B. Cases
C. Legislation
D. Treaties
E. Other
Sources should be listed in alphabetical order under each heading according to the surname of the first listed author.
The format for major reference types are as follows:
Primary sources:
Legislation:
Short Title of the Act Year (Jurisdiction) Pinpoint.
Example: Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth) s 20.
Cases:
Reported judgments:
Case name [(Year)] Volume Report Series Abbreviation Starting Page, Pinpoint.
Example: Carlill v Carbolic Smoke Ball Co [1893] 1 QB 256.
Unreported judgments / Medium Neutral:
Case name [Year] Unique Court Identifier Judgment Number (Full date) [Pinpoint].
Example: British American Tobacco Australia Services Limited v Laurie [2011] HCA 2 (9 February 2011) [18].
Secondary sources:
Book:
Author's First Name or Initial(s) Surname, Title of book (Publisher, Edition, Year).
Example: Brendan Sweeney, Jennifer O'Reilly and Andrew Coleman, Law in Commerce (LexisNexis Butterworths, 4th ed, 2010).
If there are 4 or more authors, use 'et al'.
Journal article:
Use the full title of the journal omitting any initial The. If the journal is organized by year, use square brackets around the year and omit the volume number. If organized by volume, use round brackets around the year. Include issue numbers only when pagination is not continuous across issues.
Author's First Name Surname, 'Title of article' ({Year}) Volume (Issue) Journal Name Starting page, Pinpoint.
Example: Belinda Bennett, Terry Carney, and Caroline Saint, 'Swine flu, doctors and pandemics: is there a duty to treat during a pandemic?' (2010) 17 Journal of Law and Medicine 736.
Legal Encyclopedia:
Always use the date of the last update when available, otherwise use the date of retrieval.
Publisher, Title of Encyclopedia, Volume Number (at Full Date) Title Number Name of Title, 'Chapter Number Name of Chapter' [Paragraph].
LexisNexis, Halsbury's laws of Australia, vol 13 (at 17 Nov 2009) 195 Evidence, '2 Proof of facts' [195-805].
Looseleaf service:
Publisher, Title, Volume Number (at most recent service number for that pinpoint) Pinpoint.
Example: LexisNexis Butterworths, Criminal Practice and Procedure NSW, vol.1 (at update 62) [6-200].
Internet material/websites:
Only cite as a web page if the information has not been published in print format. Use the date of the last update if available, otherwise use the date of creation. If the author's name and the website name are the same, do not include the website name.
Author's first name Surname, Document title (Full date) Website name <URL>.
By Jennifer Betts Certified Teacher