Skip to main content

Open Access: Arts

Visual Arts

  • Artist Files Revealed
    "This directory was created as a centralized repository for cultural institutions to promote their collections of artist files and for users to discover these resources more readily.

    The Directory retains institutional records contributed by institutions that house files related to the visual arts, both historic and contemporary.

    All institutions, regardless of size or geographical location, are encouraged to contribute records to this directory."
  • Goldsmiths Research Online
    Find here latest research and viewable multimedia pieces.
  • THE CLARK
    of particular interest are early 20th century China expedition photographs; a collection of the history of photomechanical reproduction; and a lost arts collection (mostly pieces lost in Europe during WWII)
  • The Getty Research Institute
    Collections include a variety of subjects and periods, from antiquity to contemporary. Objects include paintings, drawings, photographs and artist's personal letters, and more. Selected materials are free to view and download.
  • Scholars Resource
    Over 116,000 digital art images are available for viewing from all schools and periods of art and from a variety of contributing museums around the world.
  • Art Babble
    "launched by a cross-departmental collection of individuals at the Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA)" Art Babble is "intended to showcase video art content in high quality format from a variety of sources and perspectives."

Subject Guide