Open Access: Links

OhioLINK is a consortium of over 80 colleges and universities, sharing resources including those found virtually in its Digital Resource Commons.

Critical analysis of scholarly open-access publishing

This web-site has been set up without any public or commercial funding to support open access to reports, publications, data and other information resulting from taxpayer-funded research and teaching. The aim is to report on, comment on, and recommend activities which will take forward the vision of open access enshrined in the Budapest Initiative of 2002 and the Berlin Declaration of 2003. The target audience for this web-site are individual researchers and university or funding administrators who are able to change the way publicly-funded research is made available through the internet. 

These links provide information on publishing Open Access.

• What are Open Access Databases?

• Open access journals were created to increase scholarly communication by providing free access to fulltext scientific and scholarly articles that are peer reviewed or subject to editorial quality control.  This is a list of websites you may search for articles without cost. You have the right to read, download, distribute, and link to these articles as long as you properly cite them.

• Academic Journals Database--"a universal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences."
• arXiv--Pronounced archive, this site is managed by Cornell University and is funded by the National Science Foundation.  It has over 700,000 pre-published articles in math, physics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
• BASE--is operated by the Bielefeld University Library.  It "is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources."
• Berkeley Electronic Press--Bepress pioneered the Digital Commons, an open access archive for scientific and scholarly articles, papers, ebooks, presentations, theses, and dissertations published by faculty, researchers, and students.  It hosts the Digital Commons for over 150 colleges, universities, consortia, and associations in the United States and around the world with over 480,00 articles available.
• BioMed Central--BioMed Central publishes 227 open access journals
• Directory of Open Access Journals--DOAJ has over 7,000 journals covering agriculture and food service, art and architecture, biology and life sciences, business, chemistry, health science, hisotry, literature, mathematics and statistics, philosophy and religion, physics, social science, and engineering.
• DSpace International--DSpace pioneered by MIT and Hewlett Packard is now used by over 800 repositories around the world including 131 academic libraries in the United States.  You may search any repository listed on this link.
• DSpace@MIT--MIT Open Access Articles contains scholarly articles written by authors who are connected to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
• ERIC - Education Resource Information Center, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education
• eScholarship--The University of California system publishes 45 open access journals available on this site.
• JURN--JURN has over 4,000 scholarly e-journals in the arts and humanities with over 3,000 in English.
• MedLine Plus--from the National Instritue of Health from the National Library of Medicine, for patients, families, and friends.
• National Network of Libraries of Medicine - Basic medical library management: databases and Internet sites.
• NBER--National Bureau of Economic Research
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations--an open access database with access to abstracts and full-text theses and dissertations from around the world.
• OAIster-- union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources.
• PLoS--Public Library of Science publishes 7 peer reviewed scientific journals including biology, medicine, and genetics
• PsychSpider--Psychology Search Engine
• PubChem--from National Center for Biotechnology Information, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
• PubMed-"PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
• PubMed Central--PubMed is from the National Institute of Health National Library of Medicine

Find Free Publish Open Source Software For Free