Skip to main content

Academic Writing and Referencing Style: Endnote

ENDNOTE:Training And Help

EndNote has its own web site with:

  • Tip sheets and video tutorials on EndNote's main features.
  • Frequently Asked Questions - very useful set of answers to compatibility, installation, and use problems.
  • Mailing list where questions about EndNote related topics can be asked of other EndNote users. Adept Scientific archive the EndNote list.
  • Detailed manuals are provided with the EndNote software: they are usually reached through Start > Programs > EndNote.

The Library has produced this detailed tutorial for EndNote X used with Word 2003. Allow for minor variations in instructions if using a later version of EndNote or Word 2007 - you can also check the tutorials on the EndNote website for other versions of EndNote.

  • EndNote tutorial - (EndNote X) 
    Covers EndNote's main functions: adding, editing and sorting references, searching an EndNote Library, importing records from Library databases, inserting and formatting citations in a paper.
  • EndNote tutorial - (EndNote X3) from UQ

Other useful information:

Bibliographic software: ENDNOTE

What is EndNote?

EndNote is software for storing and managing bibliographic references. You can create your own EndNote library and add references or import them from databases, sort and search them. EndNote works with Microsoft Word to create citations and bibliographies in a citation style of your choice.

The University of Adelaide has a site licence so the EndNote software is available to staff and students on a work and home computer. There are versions for Mac and PC.

You can get the software from the University's Technology Services.

  • Start at EndNote conditions of use, login and follow the instructions for downloading to a University or personal computer.
  • If you are unable to login, contact the ITS Help desk, phone 830 33000, email helpdesk@adelaide.edu.au, and arrange for collection or installation.

Which EndNote version?

We recommend EndNote version X or later but note:

  • EndNote 9 - X3 are not backwards compatible with EndNote 7. You cannot share data with colleagues who use EndNote 7 or earlier versions - seesummary of differences.

     

  • Your EndNote version may be determined by your Word or Windows or Mac operating system version. For compatibility, see the EndNote web site FAQ on system requirements.

     

  • EndNote Web is a new simplified version of EndNote in which references are stored on an EndNote server not on your own computer. It is not recommended for postgraduates, staff and others with continuing research. See EndNote Web summary.

 

Using EndNote for DEST publications data

EndNote is used by Schools in the University for the collection of publication data for DEST. Adelaide Research & Innovation provides instructions, support and proformas for DEST data collection.

ENDNOTE:Importing references from databases